Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods [US/BE]

VIOLET

VIOLET
VIOLET

15.11 – 16.11.2013

Whirl-dance

In VIOLET, Meg Stuart turns to movement as the primary motor of her work, pairing abstraction with the personal in an alchemy of the senses. Five dancers reveal simultaneously and singularly an energetic landscape, a charged terrain of options, partnered live on stage by musician Brendan Dougherty on electronics and percussion. VIOLET is a whirl-dance whose energetic currents stir the wavelengths of both dance and imagination.

• The Brussels-based American choreographer Meg Stuart is a key figure in contemporary dance. Her pieces lean very much towards visual art and theatre. They are ‘physical sculptures’ whose gestures and movement draw an intense image of a frail ‘condition humaine’. Her work has toured extensively to theatres all over the world and was also presented at Documenta X (1997) in Kassel and Manifesta7 (2008) in Bolzano. Recent productions include the painful but hilarious Built to Last (2012), to a rousing score of (classical) music, and the dance performance the fault lines (2010, presented at Performatik 2013). VIOLET premiered in Essen (Germany) in 2011 and in the summer of that year was staged at the Avignon Festival and at Kaaitheater the following season. Meg Stuart has been a resident artist at the Kaaitheater for many a year.

Soul Food: Meg Stuarts sources of inspiration
‘Generally I begin a creation process from a few words, turning them over, looking at them from all sides, making associations and linking them to images. These words denote questions that fascinate me, things I want to explore.’ Meg Stuart wrote this in the book Are we here yet?, in which she reflects on her own practice in conversation with Jeroen Peeters. The journalist Anna Luyten will ask Meg about her sources of inspiration. During the interview you can enjoy a tasty snack, which will put you in a good mood for watching the performance.

‘In her performance, VIOLET, Stuart once again ventures into the unknown. She has banished the social-emotional issues that have coloured her previous pieces in order to concentrate on the kinetic and the abstract. Over and above a theatrical event, Violet is an intense sensorial experience for the audience. (...) The sensation is simultaneously startling, liberating and harrowing for spectators and performers alike. As usual with Stuart’s work, indifference is not an option.’ - The Bulletin

'A triadic ballet à la Stuart.' – Deutschlandfunk


choreography Meg Stuart | created with Alexander Baczynski-Jenkins, Varinia Canto Vila, Adam Linder, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Roger Sala Reyner | performed by Marcio Kerber Canabarro, Varinia Canto Vila, Renan Martins de Oliveira, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Roger Sala Reyner | live music Brendan Dougherty | dramaturgy Myriam Van Imschoot | scenography Janina Audick | light design Jan Maertens | costumes Nina Kroschinske | technical director Oliver Houttekiet | sound technician Richard König | light technician Jan Maertens | stagehand Pierre Willems | production manager Eline Verzelen | tour manager Annabel Heyse | assistant scenography Julia Kneusels | assistant costumes Nina Witkiewicz | assistant production Mira Moschallski | thanks to Ulrike Bodammer, Eric Andrew Green, Claudia Hill, Leyla Postalcioglu, Anna-Luise Recke, Annegret Riediger, Jozef Wouters | production Damaged Goods | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Festival d'Avignon (Avignon), Festival d'Automne à Paris (Paris), Les Spectacles vivants - Centre Pompidou (Paris) La Bâtie-Festival de Genève (Geneva) | in collaboration with RADIALSYSTEM V and Uferstudios (Berlin) | with special support of Hauptstadtkulturfonds (Berlin) | Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods are supported by the Flemish authorities and the Flemish Community Commission

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods [US/BE]

VIOLET

VIOLET
VIOLET

15.11 – 16.11.2013

Tourbillon

Dans VIOLET, Meg Stuart revient au mouvement comme premier moteur de son œuvre, et associe l’abstraction à l’individuel dans une alchimie des sens. Un ensemble de cinq danseurs s’embarque dans un voyage de plus d’une heure à travers un paysage mental. Le musicien Brendan Dougherty accompagne en direct le flot des événements sur des instruments électroniques et des percussions. VIOLET est un tourbillon, dont l’énergie attise à la fois la danse et l’imagination.

• La chorégraphe bruxello-états-unienne Meg Stuart est une figure clé de la danse contemporaine. Ses spectacles sont proches des arts plastiques et du théâtre : des sculptures physiques qui, à l’aide du geste et du mouvement, brossent un tableau intense de la fragile condition humaine. Si ses productions tournent dans les théâtres du monde entier, on peut également les retrouver dans de grandes expositions d’art contemporain comme Documenta X (1997) ou Manifesta 7 (2008) à Bolzano. Récemment, Meg Stuart a réalisé Built to Last (2012), un spectacle à la fois désopilant et déchirant, porté par une partition de musique (classique) envoûtante, et the fault lines (2010, à l’affiche de Performatik 2013). Après la première à Essen (Allemagne) en 2011, VIOLET était au programme du Festival d’Avignon et à l’affiche du Kaaitheater la saison suivante. Meg Stuart est depuis des années une « artiste maison » du Kaaitheater.

Soul Food : les sources d’inspiration de Meg Stuart

« En général, je démarre les processus de création en partant de quelques mots; je les retourne dans tous les sens, je les analyse, je fais des associations et je les relie à des images. Ces mots pointent vers des questions qui me fascinent : des choses que j’aimerais explorer. » Voilà ce qu’écrivait Meg Stuart dans Are we here yet?, le livre dans lequel elle réfléchit à sa pratique, en dialogue avec Jeroen Peeters. La journaliste Anna Luyten part en quête des sources d’inspiration de Meg Stuart. Pendant l’interview, vous savourez un casse-croûte appétissant et ensuite vous vous plongez dans le spectacle.

‘Tsunami Stuart. La dernière pièce de Meg Stuart embarque danseurs et spectateurs dans l’acceptation extrême d’une immersion dans les puissances déchaînées du monde.’ – Mouvement


choreography Meg Stuart | created with Alexander Baczynski-Jenkins, Varinia Canto Vila, Adam Linder, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Roger Sala Reyner | performed by Marcio Kerber Canabarro, Varinia Canto Vila, Renan Martins de Oliveira, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Roger Sala Reyner | live music Brendan Dougherty | dramaturgy Myriam Van Imschoot | scenography Janina Audick | light design Jan Maertens | costumes Nina Kroschinske | technical director Oliver Houttekiet | sound technician Richard König | light technician Jan Maertens | stagehand Pierre Willems | production manager Eline Verzelen | tour manager Annabel Heyse | assistant scenography Julia Kneusels | assistant costumes Nina Witkiewicz | assistant production Mira Moschallski | thanks to Ulrike Bodammer, Eric Andrew Green, Claudia Hill, Leyla Postalcioglu, Anna-Luise Recke, Annegret Riediger, Jozef Wouters | production Damaged Goods | co-production Kaaitheater (Brussels), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Festival d'Avignon (Avignon), Festival d'Automne à Paris (Paris), Les Spectacles vivants - Centre Pompidou (Paris) La Bâtie-Festival de Genève (Geneva) | in collaboration with RADIALSYSTEM V and Uferstudios (Berlin) | with special support of Hauptstadtkulturfonds (Berlin) | Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods are supported by the Flemish authorities and the Flemish Community Commission