Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Amandine Beyer / Rosas & B’Rock Orchestra [BE]

The Six Brandenburg Concertos

The Six Brandenburg Concertos
The Six Brandenburg Concertos

05.01 – 09.01.2019

During her 1980 stay in New York, in which she first rehearsed her celebrated Violin Phase to the music of Steve Reich, the only other recording playing in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s studio was the Brandenburg Concertos by Bach. More than 35 years later, De Keersmaeker continues her work with this music. ‘Like no other, Bach’s music carries within itself movement and dance, managing to combine the greatest abstraction with a concrete, physical and, subsequently, even transcendental dimension.’

The Brandenburg Concertos consist of six concerti grossi in which Bach deploys the instruments in the baroque orchestra in varying and often daring constellations. De Keersmaeker immerses sixteen dancers from different Rosas generations in the music. Following Mitten wir im Leben sind/Bach6Cellosuiten, and Vortex Temporum, she again approaches the music as a dance score, resulting in Bach’s polyphonic virtuosity being embodied onstage. The baroque ensemble B’Rock performs the concertos live. Violinist Amandine Beyer, with whom De Keersmaeker previously collaborated on Partita 2, will conduct the orchestra.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | music director Amandine Beyer | musicians B’Rock Orchestra | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Carlos Garbin, Frank Gizycki, Marie Goudot, Robin Haghi, Cynthia Loemij, Mark Lorimer, Michaël Pomero, Jason Respilieux, Igor Shyshko, Luka Švajda, Jakub Truszkowski, Thomas Vantuycom, Samantha van Wissen, Sandy Williams, Sue Yeon Youn | music Johann Sebastian Bach, the Brandenburg Concertos, BWV 1046–1051 | costumes An D'Huys | set and lighting design Jan Versweyveld | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | production Rosas | co-production B’Rock Orchestra, Volksbühne Berlin, La Monnaie/De Munt, Opéra de Lille, Opéra National de Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Concertgebouw Bruges, Hollandfestival, Festival de Marseille | world premiere 12/09/2018, Volksbühne Berlin | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

Related content

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Fase

dance

Fase
Fase

production

Thu 08.11 - Sun 25.11.18

Fase (1982) was Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s breakthrough performance. Set to four repetitive compositions by the American minimalist Steve Reich, Fase comprises three duets and a solo. The movements are executed so perfectly that they almost appear mechanical, but they are nevertheless strangely moving. For the first time in the work’s history, De Keersmaeker is passing it on to a new generation of dancers.

Rosas & tg STAN

Quartett

theatre dance

Quartett
Quartett

production

Wed 23.01 - Sat 26.01.19

As the world stands on the verge of collapse, a man and a woman exchange a razor-sharp dialogue based on a caustic text by Heiner Müller. Frank Vercruyssen from tg STAN and Cynthia Loemij from Rosas share the stage and explore the essence of the relationship between words and movement. Again at Kaaitheater after 20 years!

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

dance

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

production

Wed 19.06 - Thu 27.06.19

Take a journey through time in one evening. Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg will take you on a journey through three of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s early works, which are each the choreographic response to historic compositions.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Amandine Beyer / Rosas & B’Rock Orchestra [BE]

The Six Brandenburg Concertos

The Six Brandenburg Concertos
The Six Brandenburg Concertos

05.01 – 09.01.2019

Lorsque Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker travaille à Violin Phase à New York, en 1980, une seule musique autre que celle de Reich est diffusée dans le studio : les Concertos brandebourgeois de Bach. Trente-cinq ans plus tard, elle poursuit son travail avec cette œuvre. « Pour moi, la musique de Bach porte en elle, comme nulle autre, le mouvement et la danse. Elle parvient à associer l’abstraction extrême avec une dimension concrète, physique et c’est peut-être précisément ce qui lui donne une dimension transcendante. »

Les Concertos brandebourgeois désignent six concerti grossi dans lesquels Bach a employé les instruments de l’orchestre baroque dans différentes constellations, souvent audacieuses. Sur cette trame, De Keersmaeker dispose seize danseurs de Rosas, de différentes générations. Après la création de Mitten wir im Leben sind/Bach6Cellosuiten et tout comme dans Vortex Temporum en 2013, elle aborde à nouveau la musique comme s’il s’agissait d’une partition pour la danse, donnant corps au sens littéral du terme à la maestria polyphonique de Bach. L’ensemble baroque B’Rock interprète les concertos en direct, sous la direction de la violoniste Amandine Beyer, avec qui De Keersmaeker a déjà réalisé le spectacle Partita 2.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | music director Amandine Beyer | musicians B’Rock Orchestra | created with and danced by Boštjan Antončič, Carlos Garbin, Frank Gizycki, Marie Goudot, Robin Haghi, Cynthia Loemij, Mark Lorimer, Michaël Pomero, Jason Respilieux, Igor Shyshko, Luka Švajda, Jakub Truszkowski, Thomas Vantuycom, Samantha van Wissen, Sandy Williams, Sue Yeon Youn | music Johann Sebastian Bach, the Brandenburg Concertos, BWV 1046–1051 | costumes An D'Huys | set and lighting design Jan Versweyveld | dramaturgy Jan Vandenhouwe | production Rosas | co-production B’Rock Orchestra, Volksbühne Berlin, La Monnaie/De Munt, Opéra de Lille, Opéra National de Paris, Sadler’s Wells, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Concertgebouw Bruges, Hollandfestival, Festival de Marseille | world premiere 12/09/2018, Volksbühne Berlin | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

Sujets apparentés

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Fase

danse

Fase
Fase

danse

je 08.11 - di 25.11.18

Fase (1982) est le spectacle qui a marqué la percée d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Sur quatre compositions répétitives du minimaliste états-unien Steve Reich, trois duos et un solo se succèdent. Les mouvements sont exécutés avec une telle perfection qu’ils paraissent quasi mécaniques, mais étrangement, ils parviennent néanmoins à nous toucher. Pour la première fois, De Keersmaeker passe le témoin à une nouvelle génération de danseuses.

Rosas & tg STAN

Quartett

théâtre danse

Quartett
Quartett

théâtre

me 23.01 - sa 26.01.19

Dans un monde sur le point de s’effondrer, un homme et une femme mènent un dialogue à bâtons rompus, inspiré d’un texte mordant de Heiner Müller. Frank Vercruyssen de tg STAN et Cynthia Loemij de Rosas partagent la scène en quête de la quintessence du rapport entre parole et mouvement. À (re)voir vingt ans plus tard au Kaaitheater !

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Rosas

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse musique

Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg
Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg

danse

me 19.06 - je 27.06.19

Un voyage dans le temps en une soirée : Bartók/Beethoven/Schönberg nous emmène revoir trois œuvres des débuts d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, une à une des réponses chorégraphiques à des partitions historiques.