Benjamin Vandewalle [BE]

Studio Cité

Studio Cité
Studio Cité

14.09 – 22.09.2019

‘The public space is where conflicting points of view are confronted without any possibility of a final reconciliation.’ – Chantal Mouffe (Agonistics)

I see I see you what you don’t see and it is… a dancer, a viewer, a curb, a passer-by, or no, it is a dancer. Studio Cité orients, directs, diverts and distorts your view of the world. Step inside a driving mirror cart by yourself, form a dancing circle with your fellow audience members, or stand on the side-lines watching how people with periscopic masks try to find their way. You are both a viewer and a performer. As a choreographer of sight, Benjamin Vandewalle plays with the way we observe reality and challenges our perception. How do we observe our environment and the people within it – and do we dare and surrender ourselves to new perspectives? In Studio Cité, Vandewalle organizes an artistic funfair that offers unexpected experiences on Brussels’ squares.

• Benjamin Vandewalle – who has been a Kaaitheater artist-in-residence since 2017 – describes himself as an urban choreographer. He has taken Kaaitheater audiences into the streets several times, in performances like Walking the line, Perisphere, Inter-View and Birdwatching 4x4.


concept & direction Benjamin Vandewalle | performance Alice Van Der Wielen, Shosha Van Kranendonk, Yentl De Werdt | technical coordination Hans Van Wambeke, Jonas Vanhullebusch | technical support Bjørn Gunnar Otten | technician on tour Pierre Daugy | technical engineering Joris Festjens | sound Yoann Durant, Laryssa Kim | sound engineering Gert Aertsen, Leander Schönweger | costumes Sofie Durnez | graphic design Fien Robbe | thanks to Aernout Vandewalle, CB service, Ivan Lucadamo | an IN SITU Pilot project, has received a creation aid by the ACT project, co- funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union | co-production Kaaitheataer, Atelier 231, Festival di Terni, Freedom Festival, La Strada Graz, Lieux publics, Norfolk & Norwich Festival, Østfold kulturutvikling, Oerol Festival, Theater op de Markt, UZ Arts, SoAP, workspacebrussels | executive production Caravan Production | support the Flemish Authorities

Benjamin Vandewalle [BE]

Studio Cité

Studio Cité
Studio Cité

14.09 – 22.09.2019

‘The public space is where conflicting points of view are confronted without any possibility of a final reconciliation.’ – Chantal Mouffe (Agonistics)

Je vois, je vois ce que tu ne vois pas et c’est… un danseur, un spectateur, un bord de trottoir, un passant, ou non, quand même un danseur. Dans Studio Cité, le regard est orienté, dirigé, dévié et détourné. Montez sur une charrette roulante à miroir, formez un cercle dansant avec d’autres spectateurs ou restez sur le côté regarder des gens aux masques périscopiques chercher leur chemin. Vous êtes à la fois spectateur et performeur. En tant que chorégraphe du regard, Benjamin Vandewalle joue avec la manière dont nous percevons la réalité et défie notre perception. Comment observons-nous notre environnement et les personnes qui en font partie et osons-nous nous abandonner à des points de vue nouveaux ? Avec Studio Cité, Vandewalle nous offre des expériences inattendues dans la kermesse artistique qu’il crée et installe sur des places publiques bruxelloises.

• Benjamin Vandewalle – artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater depuis 2017 – se qualifie de chorégraphe urbain. Il a déjà quelques fois emmené le public du Kaaitheater à travers les rues de la ville pour des performances comme Walking the line, Perisphere, Inter-View et Birdwatching 4x4.


concept & direction Benjamin Vandewalle | performance Alice Van Der Wielen, Shosha Van Kranendonk, Yentl De Werdt | technical coordination Hans Van Wambeke, Jonas Vanhullebusch | technical support Bjørn Gunnar Otten | technician on tour Pierre Daugy | technical engineering Joris Festjens | sound Yoann Durant, Laryssa Kim | sound engineering Gert Aertsen, Leander Schönweger | costumes Sofie Durnez | graphic design Fien Robbe | thanks to Aernout Vandewalle, CB service, Ivan Lucadamo | an IN SITU Pilot project, has received a creation aid by the ACT project, co- funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union | co-production Kaaitheataer, Atelier 231, Festival di Terni, Freedom Festival, La Strada Graz, Lieux publics, Norfolk & Norwich Festival, Østfold kulturutvikling, Oerol Festival, Theater op de Markt, UZ Arts, SoAP, workspacebrussels | executive production Caravan Production | support the Flemish Authorities

Sujets apparentés

GEZOCHT: vrijwilligers voor Studio Cité

GEZOCHT: vrijwilligers voor Studio Cité
GEZOCHT: vrijwilligers voor Studio Cité

Nieuws

ma 13.08.19

Choreograaf Benjamin Vandewalle en het Kaaitheater zoeken vrijwilligers voor de verschillende installaties van Studio Cité.

JE SOUHAITE TRANSFORMER PROVISOIREMENT L’ESPACE PUBLIC EN UN LIEU D’INTROSPECTION

Un entretien avec Benjamin Vandewalle

JE SOUHAITE TRANSFORMER PROVISOIREMENT L’ESPACE PUBLIC EN UN LIEU D’INTROSPECTION
JE SOUHAITE TRANSFORMER PROVISOIREMENT L’ESPACE PUBLIC EN UN LIEU D’INTROSPECTION

article

me 21.08.19

Il y a trois ans, au début de sa résidence d’artiste au Kaaitheater, nous nous sommes entretenus avec Benjamin Vandewalle. Il jouait alors avec l’idée d’une foire des arts et souhaitait devenir chorégraphe de la ville autoproclamé. En 2019, cette foire aux arts a pris corps sous le nom de Studio Cité.