Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells [BE/DE/US, UK]

Shown and Told

Shown and Told
Shown and Told

21.11 – 23.11.2019

Like boarded up windows,
like stone steps,
like the sound of voices from a far away room,
like the smell of burning,
like the way that condensation forms on windows,
like searching for something,
like searching through rooms.

 – Tim Etchells

Shown and Told is a dynamic performance-collage founded on structured improvisation and associative leaps. It is an encounter between choreographer and dancer Meg Stuart and writer/performance artist Tim Etchells (Forced Entertainment). Together, they explore the relationship between movement, images and the body as a performance instrument. Using lively images, both physical and linguistic, the two performers develop a dialogue that is by turns tough, moving and comical. Shown and Told premiered at the Kaaistudios in 2016 – and it is now returning after an extensive tour.


created and performed by Tim Etchells & Meg Stuart | light design Gilles Roosen | costumes Annabel Heyse | technical director Jitske Vandenbussche | licht technician Tom Bruwier | tour manager Delphine Vincent | production Damaged Goods | Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods are supported by the Government of Flanders and the Flemish Community Commission.

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods

Celestial Sorrow

dance performance

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

dance

Wed 24.06 - Sat 27.06.20

Celestial Sorrow is Meg Stuart’s first collaboration with the Indonesian visual artist Jompet Kuswidananto. Based in collective memories and fictitious traumas, the duo create a world of light and movement that is inhabited by three performers and two musicians. The show premiered at the Kaaistudios in 2018 and is moving to the main stage of Kaaitheater for this reprise.

Forced Entertainment

Out Of Order

theatre

Out Of Order
Out Of Order

theatre

Fri 24.01 - Sat 25.01.20

On a bare stage under bright light, six hapless clowns do their best to get along and pass the time. They fight and chase in eruptions of uneasy mayhem, then cool off a little, settle and wait for the whole thing to kick off again. Carefully unbalanced between funny and not funny, Out Of Order is the ruins of a show in the ruins of a world.

Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells [BE/DE/US, UK]

Shown and Told

Shown and Told
Shown and Told

21.11 – 23.11.2019

Like boarded up windows,
like stone steps,
like the sound of voices from a far away room,
like the smell of burning,
like the way that condensation forms on windows,
like searching for something,
like searching through rooms.

 – Tim Etchells

Shown and Told, une rencontre entre la chorégraphe et danseuse Meg Stuart et l’auteur et créateur de spectacles Tim Etchells (Forced Entertainment), est un collage dynamique composé d’improvisations structurées et de sauts associatifs. Ensemble, ils partent en quête de la relation entre le mouvement, l’image et le corps en tant qu’instrument du spectacle vivant. S’appuyant sur des images vivantes, aussi bien physiques que langagières, les deux artistes créent un dialogue alternativement dur, émouvant et comique. La première de Shown and Told a eu lieu en 2016 aux Kaaistudio’s et y revient à présent après une longue tournée.

« Un saut dans l’inconnu avec le public pour témoin. » – De Morgen


created and performed by Tim Etchells & Meg Stuart | light design Gilles Roosen | costumes Annabel Heyse | technical director Jitske Vandenbussche | licht technician Tom Bruwier | tour manager Delphine Vincent | production Damaged Goods | Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods are supported by the Government of Flanders and the Flemish Community Commission.

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods

Celestial Sorrow

danse performance

Celestial Sorrow
Celestial Sorrow

danse

me 24.06 - sa 27.06.20

Pour Celestial Sorrow, Meg Stuart collabore pour la première fois avec l’artiste plasticien indonésien Jompet Kuswidananto. Partant de souvenirs collectifs et de traumatismes fictifs, le duo crée un univers de lumière et de mouvement, habité par trois performeurs et deux musiciens. La première du spectacle a eu lieu en 2018 aux Kaaistudio’s et se déplace pour cette reprise sur la scène du Kaaitheater.

Forced Entertainment

Out Of Order

théâtre

Out Of Order
Out Of Order

théâtre

ve 24.01 - sa 25.01.20

Sur une scène vide et sous des projecteurs éblouissants, six clowns tristes s’efforcent de faire passer le temps. Ils se crêpent le chignon, s’apaisent, et puis recommencent. Out Of Order oscille savamment entre drôlerie et tristesse. Un spectacle en lambeaux dans un monde en lambeaux.