Rosas [BE]

Rosas danst Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

08.10 – 12.10.2013

Four women

In 1983 Rosas danst Rosas had its world premiere at the fourth Kaaitheater Festival. So this year it will therefore be celebrating its thirtieth anniversary. The choreography has remained almost continuously in the repertoire of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s dance company and has been performed all over the world. Few choreographies have had such an impact on the development of contemporary dance and persuaded so many people to come and watch dance. Rosas danst Rosas is a true classic, perhaps the classic in our national dance history.     

In 1982 Fase had already been a revelation because of its repetitive postmodern movement idiom. A year later the very young Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker surprised audiences even more with the sophisticated composition of Rosas danst Rosas. The production also signalled the start of the Rosas company; the four dancers – Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda and Nadine Ganase – were the first members of the company.  

At the beginning four women stand at the back of the stage with their backs to the audience: their first movement is to fall backwards and roll over. Almost like capsizing. In this first part the only music is that of the human body: the panting and dragging across the floor. In part two the music starts; it was composed by Thierry De Mey and Peter Vermeersch in parallel with the creation of the choreography. In Rosas danst Rosas we see the emergence of the themes that have continued to characterise De Keersmaeker’s work: the contrast between rational structure and meaningful emotion, the dialectic between aggression and tenderness, the interaction between unison and counterpoint, and between uniformity and individuality.

Do you dance Rosas?

Together with fABULEUS Rosas and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker are launching a challenge. Dance your own Rosas danst Rosas, make a video film of it and post it on www.rosasdanstrosas.be.
In a few videos on this website, choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and dancer Samantha van Wissen teach you the moves, step by step, from the second part of the performance. After that it becomes your dance: you dance Rosas. In a different setting, with a huge number of dancers… any way you like!
If you upload your video film before 1st October 2013, it will be shown at the Kaaitheater to accompany the live performances of Rosas danst Rosas from 8 until 12 October.

 


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced on 8.10.13 by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Cynthia Loemij, Sarah Ludi, Samantha van Wissen | danced on 9 & 10.10.13 by Tale Dolven, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Sue-Yeon Youn | danced on 12.10.13 by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Sue-Yeon Youn | created with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Adriana Borriello, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda | music Thierry De Mey, Peter Vermeersch | musicians (recording) Thierry De Mey, Walter Hus, Eric Sleichim, Peter Vermeersch | light design Remon Fromont | costumes 1983 Rosas, rerun  Anne-Catherine Kunz | rehearsal directors Fumiyo Ikeda, Muriel Hérault | assistant to artistic director Anne Van Aerschot | technical management Joris Erven | technicians Jan Herinckx, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets, Bert Van Dyck (t.b.c.) | world premiere 06/05/1983 Kaaitheaterfestival at Théâtre de la Balsamine (Brussels) | production 1983 Rosas & Kaaitheater | production Early Works Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

Rosas [BE]

Rosas danst Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

08.10 – 12.10.2013

Quatre femmes

La première mondiale de Rosas danst Rosas remonte à 1983, dans le cadre du quatrième Kaaitheaterfestival. Le spectacle souffle donc ces trente bougies cette année. Tout au long de ces années, la chorégraphie est restée de manière quasi ininterrompue au répertoire de la compagnie d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et a été interprétée dans le monde entier. Peu de chorégraphies ont exercé une influence aussi marquante sur l’évolution de la danse contemporaine et ont convaincu autant de monde à venir assister à un spectacle de danse. Rosas danst Rosas est un véritable classique, peut-être le classique de notre histoire nationale de la danse.  

En 1982, Fase était déjà une révélation par son vocabulaire gestuel répétitif post-moderne. Un an plus tard, la toute jeune Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a surpris avec une composition encore plus élaborée. La production a également donné le coup d’envoi à sa compagnie, Rosas. Les quatre danseuses – Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda, et Nadine Ganase – en étaient les premiers membres.  

Au début du spectacle, quatre femmes se tiennent au fond de la scène, le dos tourné au public : leur premier mouvement consiste à tomber en arrière et faire en même temps une culbute. Elles chavirent presque. Pendant la première partie, la seule musique que l’on entende est celle des corps : les halètements, le frottement contre le sol. La deuxième partie est accompagnée de la musique que Thierry De Mey et Peter Vermeersch ont composée en concomitance avec la création de la chorégraphie. Dans Rosas danst Rosas, on voit apparaître pour la première fois les thèmes qui deviendront caractéristiques de l’œuvre de De Keersmaeker : le contraste entre la structure rationnelle et une émotion non dénuée de sens, la dialectique entre agression et tendresse, l’interaction entre unisson et contrepoint, entre uniformité et individualité.

Dansez-vous Rosas ?

La compagnie Rosas et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, en collaboration avec fABULEUS lancent un appel : dansez votre propre Rosas danst Rosas, faites-en un petit film et postez votre vidéo sur www.rosasdanstrosas.be.
Dans les vidéos que vous trouverez sur ce site, la chorégraphe Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et la danseuse Samantha van Wissen vous enseignent pas à pas les mouvements de la deuxième partie du spectacle. Ensuite, c’est à votre tour : Vous dansez Rosas.
Téléchargez votre film avant le 1er octobre 2013 et il sera montré dans le cadre des représentations de Rosas danst Rosas, du 8 au 12 octobre au Kaaitheater.

 
 


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced on 8.10.13 by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Cynthia Loemij, Sarah Ludi, Samantha van Wissen | danced on 9 & 10.10.13 by Tale Dolven, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Sue-Yeon Youn | danced on 12.10.13 by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Elizaveta Penkova, Sue-Yeon Youn | created with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Adriana Borriello, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda | music Thierry De Mey, Peter Vermeersch | musicians (recording) Thierry De Mey, Walter Hus, Eric Sleichim, Peter Vermeersch | light design Remon Fromont | costumes 1983 Rosas, rerun  Anne-Catherine Kunz | rehearsal directors Fumiyo Ikeda, Muriel Hérault | assistant to artistic director Anne Van Aerschot | technical management Joris Erven | technicians Jan Herinckx, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets, Bert Van Dyck (t.b.c.) | world premiere 06/05/1983 Kaaitheaterfestival at Théâtre de la Balsamine (Brussels) | production 1983 Rosas & Kaaitheater | production Early Works Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg