Ecopolis 2022

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures ATTENTION: THIS EVENT WILL TAKE PLACE AT THE ANCIENNE BELGIQUE !!!

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures

15.10.2022

“Thinking out of the box is exactly how the box thinks. We are the boxes we strive to out-think,” writes philosopher Bayo Akomolafe, speaker at the eighth edition of Ecopolis where artists, thinkers and doers break open our frames. Social, ecological and economic crises force us to think about a radically different way of living. Can unheard stories help us with that? Stories that link different generations, geographical areas that are far apart or ancient knowledge and technology. Can activism as a form of love take us further than doomsday thinking? "The world is not about to end; we are already living with a different world," Akomolafe continues. Ecopolis brings stories that depict an inclusive and sustainable future for this new world.

•  Ecopolis is the annual rendezvous for those committed to a sustainable future. Ecopolis is diverse, international and interactive. The eighth edition starts in the afternoon and goes on until late in the evening. Expect walks, lectures, discussions between writers, academics and citizens, workshops, literature and documentaries. Kaaitheater has already invited makers Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht to contribute their work on the impact of war on the climate. At the crossroads of performance and discourse, they will present stories from Iraq, Kenya, Ukraine... Last season Khaled and Robbrecht worked together on the project God 99, which premiered at Kaaitheater. 

 

PROGRAMME

WORKSHOPS & WALKS

13:30 Minority walk with Omar Fassi Fehri (EN/FR)

The Minority Walk is a tour of the center of Brussels to discover the public space of the capital, told through the lens of how the oppression of various minority groups is still taking place, in different ways, representations, mechanisms and images. (starting point at AB)

> reserve your spot

13:30 The Brussels of witches: feminist guided walk (EN/FR)

In the 14th century, as we move out of the ‘dark’ Middle Ages and into the Modern Age and the Renaissance, women are plunged into darkness – or rather into the flames of the stake. How were women’s skills and knowledge transformed into acts of witchcraft?  hat does our urban public space reveal about that time… and about witches today? Find out in this guided walk by art historian Chiara Tomalino from L’architecture qui dégenre. (starting point at L'oreille Tourbillonnante, Calder (Corner of Rue du Musée/Coudenberg - 1000 Brussels)

> reserve your spot

13:30 Walk: Twee (t)huizen, een gids (NL)

In this intercultural walk, the guides do not focus on history but on how they themselves experience the city. During Ecopolis, we follow Tatyana, who moved from Ukraine to Belgium some 22 years ago and at once fell in love with Brussels because of its rich and omnipresent history, culture and vibrancy. She will take you along the former canal showing you her favourite spots. The walk ends with a tour of KVS theatre, for which she has a personal preference. A drink at KVS Café Congo will be the perfect conclusion to you walk. Organized by FMDO. (starts at Saint Catherine church)

> reserve your spot

14:00 Workshop ‘Limits to Growth (NL/EN)

Floods, forest fires, melting glaciers, etc.: we are increasingly faced with natural disasters. The consequences are disastrous and indisputable: we are exceeding the limits of our planet. To keep our planet livable, we urgently need to rethink our way of living. In this workshop, in line with the Buen Vivir philosophy, we will look together for ways in which we can live with fewer non-renewable resources, with the aim of taking a critical look at our consumer society and actively considering alternative models of society. (together with Catapa) (starting point at AB)

> reserve your spot

 

DEBATES & PERFORMANCE

16:00 Colonisation as exploitation of people and nature

Colonalisation is more than a system of dominance over a population and territory. In this panel discussion, writers and artists from various backgrounds will discuss what this means and will focus on the many narratives that survived colonialism while offering alternatives. They will talk about what the  ’decolonialisation’ movement involves.
With: Dalilla Hermans (journalist, writer, theatre maker), Báyò Akómoláfè (celebrated international speaker, posthumanist thinker, and essayist) Jumana Emil Abboud (Palestinian artist), Mihnea Tănăsescu (political theoretician) and with Olave Nduwanje (writer, lawyer and activist) as moderator.

18:00 Different jobs, one planet. Stories of strong commitment

Whatever your studies, whatever your job, there are always plenty of opportunities for strong commitment to creating a better world. An architect need not only design houses but may also promote a more feminine approach to urban life. A lawyer may lead the way in the fight against chemical pollution of the environment. And what about a financial analyst’s call for blowing up the banks?
With: Apolline Vranken (architect), Thomas Goorden (environmental activist), Jérémy Désir-Weber (financial analyst), moderated by Caroline Van Peteghem and concluded with a brief key-note by Eric Corijn (cultural philosopher and social scientist)

21:00 TANK TINK / ONE: The environmental impact of war (première)

War turns gigantic areas into inhospitable no-go zones. Its impact on humans as well as on nature and biodiversity is dramatic. Ecopolis will feature playwrights and performers Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht in the premiere of their play on the impact of war on the environment. Along with artists, journalists and activists from different corners of the world, they examine the relationship between warfare and environmental crises in a hybrid and polyphonic lecture-performance.
With: Sara Dziri, Anika Schwarzlose, Ogutu Muraya, Caroline Ngorobi, Chris Keulemans and Brian McKenna.

>>> more info: ecopolis.be


presented by AB, Oikos & Kaaitheater

There's more

Enkidu Khaled & Joachim Robbrecht

TANK TINK / ONE

lecture performance

TANK TINK / ONE
TANK TINK / ONE
Ancienne Belgique
Sat 15.10.22

Enkidu Khaled and Joachim Robbrecht will close the evening at Ecopolis with the premiere of TANK TINK / ONE. They hijacked the format of the 'creative think tank' from its original military context. Along with artists, journalists and activists from different corners of the world, they examine the relationship between warfare and environmental crises in a hybrid and polyphonic lecture-performance.

ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIO'S

ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIO'S
ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIO'S

Programme leaflet

Mon 10.10.22

Read the entire programme and the biographies of all the speakers.

Ecopolis 2022

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures ATTENTION : CET ÉVÉNEMENT AURA LIEU À L'ANCIENNE BELGIQUE !!!

Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures
Multiple (hi)stories, Multiple futures

15.10.2022

"Penser hors du cadre, c'est exactement comme ça que pense le cadre. Nous sommes les cadres que nous nous efforçons de dépasser", écrit le philosophe Bayo Akomolafe, intervenant à la huitième édition d'Ecopolis, où des artistes, des penseur·euses et des créateur·ices brisent nos cadres. Les crises sociales, écologiques et économiques nous obligent à réfléchir à un mode de vie radicalement différent. Les histoires inédites peuvent-elles nous y aider ? Des récits qui relient différentes générations, des zones géographiques éloignées ou des connaissances et technologies anciennes. L'activisme en tant que forme d'amour peut-il nous mener plus loin que la pensée apocalyptique ? "La fin du monde n'est pas imminente ; nous vivons déjà dans un monde différent", poursuit M. Akomolafe. Ecopolis propose des histoires qui dépeignent un avenir inclusif et durable pour ce nouveau monde.

• Ecopolis est le rendez-vous annuel de ceux·celles qui s'engagent pour un avenir durable. Ecopolis est synonyme de diversité, d'internationalité et d'interactivité. La huitième édition débute dans l'après-midi et se poursuit jusque tard dans la soirée. Attendez-vous à des promenades, des conférences, des discussions entre écrivain·es, universitaires et citoyen·nes, des ateliers, de la littérature et des documentaires. Le Kaaitheater a invite d’ores et déjà les réalisateurs Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht pour une contribution sur l'impact de la guerre sur le climat. À la croisée de la performance et du discours, ils présenteront des histoires d'Irak, du Kenya, d'Ukraine... La saison dernière, Khaled et Robbrecht ont travaillé ensemble sur le projet God 99, dont la première a eu lieu au Kaaitheater. 

PROGRAMME

PROMENADES & ATELIER 

13:30 Minority walk avec Omar Fassi Fehri (EN/FR)

L’histoire des minorités reste souvent invisible, « oubliée » dans le débat public. La Minority Walk est une promenade de deux heures dans le centre de Bruxelles, qui propose de découvrir comment l’oppression des minorités – au sens de groupes soumis à des relations de domination – se reflète dans l’espace public. (démare à AB)

> reservez

13:30 La Bruxelles des sorcières: marche guidée féministe (EN/FR)

Au XIVe siècle, alors que l’on s’apprête à quitter le « sombre » Moyen Âge, direction les Temps modernes et la Renaissance, les femmes sont, quant à elles, plongées dans l’obscurité – ou plutôt dans les flammes du bûcher. Comment les compétences et savoirs des femmes ont-ils été transformés en actes de sorcellerie ? Que nous révèle notre espace public urbain de cette époque… et des sorcières d’aujourd’hui ? Découvrez le lors de la visite guidée par Chiara Tomalino de L’architecture qui dégenre. (démare à L'oreille Tourbillonnante, Calder (Au coin de Rue du Musée – 1000 Brussels)

> reservez

13:30 Promenade: Twee (t)huizen, een gids (NL)

Dans ce promenade interculturel, le guide se concentre sur la façon dont ils vivent eux-mêmes la ville. Lors de Ecopolis, nous suivons Tatyana, qui a quitté l’Ukraine pour s’installer en Belgique il y a quelque 22 ans et est tout de suite tombée amoureuse de Bruxelles en raison de son histoire riche et omniprésente, de sa culture et de son dynamism. Elle vous montre ses endroits préférés. La promenade se termine par une visite du théâtre KVS, pour lequel elle a une préférence personnelle. Un verre au KVS Café Congo sera la conclusion parfaite de votre promenade. En collaboration avec FMDO (démare à l''église Saint-Catherine)

> reservez

14:00 Atelier ‘Limits to Growth’ (NL/EN)

Inondations, incendies de forêt, fonte des glaciers, … : nous sommes de plus en plus confrontés aux catastrophes naturelles. Les conséquences sont désastreuses et indiscutables : nous sommes en train de dépasser les limites de notre planète. Pour que notre planète reste vivable, il est urgent de repenser notre mode de vie. Dans cet atelier, en accord avec la philosophie du « Buen Vivir », nous chercherons ensemble des moyens de vivre avec moins de ressources non renouvelables, dans le but de porter un regard critique sur notre société de consommation et d’envisager activement des modèles de vie alternatifs. En collaboration avec CATAPA. (démare à AB)

> reservez

 

DÉBATS & PERFORMANCE

16:00 La colonisation en tant qu’exploitation des personnes et de la nature

La colonisation englobe plus qu’un système de domination sur un groupe de population et un territoire. Dans ce panel, des auteurs, autrices et artistes de différents horizons discutent de la signification de ce phénomène, des nombreuses histoires qui ont (sur)vécu malgré la colonisation et offrent des alternatives, et de ce que signifie le mouvement inverse de la « décolonisation ».
Avec: Dalilla Hermans (journaliste, écrivaine, réalisatrice de théâtre), Báyò Akómoláfè (conférencier international célèbre, penseur post-humaniste, essayiste) Jumana Emil Abboud (artiste palestinienne), Mihnea Tănăsescu (théoricien politique) et la modératrice Olave Nduwanje (écrivaine, juriste, activiste).

18:00 Des métiers différents, une seule planète. Histoires d’engagement fort

Quelles que soient vos études, quel que soit votre emploi, il existe des possibilités d’engagement fort en faveur d’un monde meilleur. Un architecte ne doit pas seulement construire des maisons, il peut aussi attirer l’attention sur une approche plus féminine de la ville. Un avocat peut prendre la tête de la lutte contre la pollution chimique de notre environnement. Et que dire de l’appel d’un analyste financier à faire sauter les banques ?
Avec: Apolline Vranken (architecte), Jérémy Désir-Weber (analyste financier), Thomas Goorden (activiste environnemental), modéré par Caroline Van Peteghem et conclu par une courte conférence d'Eric Corijn (philosophe culturel et un spécialiste des sciences sociales)

21:00 TANK TINK / ONE: L’impact environnemental de la guerre (première)

La guerre fait de gigantesques zones inhospitalières des zones interdites. L’impact sur les personnes mais aussi sur la nature et la biodiversité est énorme. À Ecopolis, les auteurs et interprètes de théâtre Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht présentent la première de TANK TINK/ONE, leur pièce sur l’impact environnemental de la guerre. Avec des artistes, des journalistes et des activistes de différents coins du monde, ils étudient la relation entre la guerre et les crises environnementales dans une lecture-performance hybride et polyphonique.
Avec : Sara Dziri, Anika Schwarzlose, Ogutu Muraya, Caroline Ngorobi, Chris Keulemans et Brian McKenna.

>>> meer info op ecopolis.be


presented by AB, Oikos & Kaaitheater

There's more

Enkidu Khaled & Joachim Robbrecht

TANK TINK / ONE

lecture performance

TANK TINK / ONE
TANK TINK / ONE
Ancienne Belgique
sa 15.10.22

Pendant Ecopolis, Enkidu Khaled et Joachim Robbrecht clôtureront la soirée avec la première de TANK TINK / ONE. Ils détournent le format du "groupe de réflexion créatif" de son contexte militaire initial. Avec des artistes, des journalistes et des activistes de différents coins du monde, ils étudient la relation entre la guerre et les crises environnementales dans une lecture-performance hybride et polyphonique.

ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIOGRAPHIES

ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIOGRAPHIES
ECOPOLIS 2022: PROGRAMME & BIOGRAPHIES

Feuille de salle

lu 10.10.22

Ici vous trouvez le programme entier et les biographies des intervenant·e·s.