Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor [BE]

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

09.01 – 11.01.2020

A stone’s throw from the Kaaistudios, there is a row of dilapidated and unhealthy social housing blocks that will soon be demolished: these are the five blocks of the Rempart des Moines. The current residents have to make way for more affluent buyers. The Brussels Brecht-Eisler Choir is presenting a musical theatre piece that attempts to capture and evoke their confusion and uncertainty. Melancholie aan de vijf blokken is about Brussels, about poverty, about vulnerable people, about how little say they have in the city. The BBEK is taking the side of the people who are taking the beating and seeks to make a clear statement of their solidarity. A universal demand resounds: join the struggle for the right to the city!

• The Brussels Brecht-Eisler Choir is inspired by the political and cultural legacy of Bertolt Brecht and Hanns Eisler, and is based in Brussels. Previously, they have presented The Shouting Fence, WaanVlucht and Say No! The Deserter’s Song in and around Kaaitheater.


spel & zang Het Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor | tekst Sybille Cornet | compositie Kaat Dewindt | regie Vital Schraenen | dirigent Lieve Franssen | dramaturgie & onderzoek Raf Custers | in samenwerking met Kaaitheater, De Markten

Brussels Brecht - Eislerkoor [BE]

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)
Mélancolie aux 5 blocs (pourquoi ne se révoltent-ils pas ?)

09.01 – 11.01.2020

À proximité des Kaaistudio’s se trouvent cinq barres de logements sociaux insalubres et négligés : les cinq immeubles du Rempart aux Moines. Tous vont bientôt être rasés. Les habitants doivent faire de la place pour un public plus nanti. Le spectacle de théâtre musical du Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor tente de saisir et d’évoquer leur confusion et leur incertitude. Mélancolie aux cinq blocs parle de Bruxelles, de pauvreté, de personnes fragiles et du peu de marge de manœuvre dont elles disposent dans cette ville. Le BBEK se range résolument du côté de ceux qui encaissent les coups et souhaite affirmer clairement sa solidarité. Une exigence universelle résonne : rejoignez la lutte pour le droit à la ville !

• Le Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor s’inspire de l’héritage politique et culturel de Bertolt Brecht et Hans Eisler. Bruxelles est sa base d’opérations. Le Kaaitheater a présenté précédemment The Shouting Fence, WaanVlucht et Say No! The Deserter’s Song.


spel & zang Het Brussels Brecht-Eislerkoor | tekst Sybille Cornet | compositie Kaat Dewindt | regie Vital Schraenen | dirigent Lieve Franssen | dramaturgie & onderzoek Raf Custers | in samenwerking met Kaaitheater, De Markten