Aviel Verbruggen e.a.

Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?

Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?
Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?

19.05.2011

Evening debate on nuclear energy with Aviel Verbruggen, Eloi Glorieux and Dirk Vansintjan
+ a performance by Davis Freeman/Random Scream

Since the events at Fukushima, the use of nuclear energy has once again come to the forefront of public debate. And who better to put the cat among the pigeons than Professor Aviel Verbruggen, an energy and environmental economist at Antwerp University and a member of the IPCC, the UN climate panel.

At the invitation of the Kaaitheater and the Masereelfonds, he will be making an analysis of the way the nuclear lobby steers the media and politics. He makes it clear why nuclear energy is not a sustainable but rather a dangerous and expensive solution. And he proposes that, given sufficient political will and intelligent sustainable investment, there are sufficient alternatives to nuclear energy.

Eloi Glorieux (communication academic, member of staff at Greenpeace) and Dirk Vansintjan (project manager at Ecopower) offer their comments. After this the audience will have the opportunity to ask questions.

After the debate, the theatre-maker Davis Freeman will present the Seven Promises in the Kaaicafé. Together with the actor Jerry Killick, he plays the part of a green preacher and they try to persuade the audience to make ‘sustainable’ promises.

Aviel Verbruggen e.a.

Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?

Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?
Kernenergie. Maken we ons illusies?

19.05.2011

Soirée débat sur l’énergie nucléaire avec Aviel Verbruggen, Eloi Glorieux, Dirk Vansintjan
+ spectacle de Davis Freeman/Random Scream

Depuis la catastrophe de Fukushima, l’utilisation de l’énergie nucléaire est à nouveau au cœur du débat. Et qui mieux, pour jeter un pavé dans la mare, que le professeur Aviel Verbruggen, économiste spécialisé dans le domaine de l’énergie et d’environnement, rattaché à l’Université d’Anvers et membre du GIEC, le panel sur le climat de l’ONU.

À l’invitation du Kaaitheater et du Masereelfonds, il présente une analyse de la manière dont le lobby du nucléaire dirige les médias et la politique. Il met en évidence les raisons pour lesquelles l’énergie nucléaire n’est pas une solution durable, mais une option dangereuse et coûteuse. Et il affirme que, moyennant suffisamment de volonté politique et d’investissements durables intelligents, on peut trouver des solutions de substitution à l’énergie nucléaire.

Eloi Glorieux (spécialiste de la communication, membre actif de Greenpeace!) et Dirk Vansintjan (directeur du projet Ecopower) livrent leurs commentaires. Ensuite, le public peut poser des questions.

Après le débat, le créateur de théâtre Davis Freeman présente au Kaaicafé le spectacle Seven Promises. Avec le comédien Jerry Killick, il joue le rôle du prêcheur vert et ensemble, ils tentent de convaincre le public de faire des promesses « durables ».