Toneelgroep Amsterdam [Amsterdam]

Het temmen van de feeks

Het temmen van de feeks
Het temmen van de feeks

20.10 – 22.10.2005

In the 2004-2005 season, director Ivo van Hove developed a series for Tg Amsterdam on marriage, family, and the relationship between men and women. He himself directed The Norman Conquests trilogy by Alan Ayckbourn and Scenes from a marriage by Ingmar Bergman. Peter van Kraaij presented Harold Pinter’s Bedrog (Betrayal), and Ivo van Hove concluded the whole with his vision of The Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare.
  
The Taming of the Shrew dates back to 1590 and, as far as the plot is concerned, is generally considered to show male chauvinism. The story is about two sisters: the good Bianca, who likes to conform to what society and especially her father dictates, and the rebellious Katharina, the shrew who cannot be tamed. Bianca is only allowed to marry Lucentio after a husband has been found for her older sister Katharina. But who would be willing to marry such a shrew? Then Petruchio appears and, to everyone’s surprise, after a fierce struggle he manages to tame the rebellious girl. 

In his staging Ivo van Hove presents an image of what a pleasant oasis Padua, the city in which the story is set, must have been: however, in this temple of the Renaissance, this oasis of culture, life appears to be subject to strict laws and regulations. Life is determined by money and the power and status it brings. Fathers see their daughters as merchandise and in the world of servants there is also a strict hierarchy. The only time this image disappears is during carnival. Then there is an outlet for frustrations and everyone is allowed to dress up as the person they would have liked to become. Padua’s mask of tolerance and civilisation is then thrown off and everyone can give way to their desire for anarchy. It is against this backdrop that Katharina and Petruchio do battle, and this turns into love: a love between tyrant and victim, between master and servant, where they probably each find the only partner possible for them in this life.

Hafid Bouazza, the writer whose work includes the award-winning Paravion, did a new translation of the play for Tg Amsterdam.


texte William Shakespeare
mise en scène Ivo van Hove
traduction Hafid Bouazza
avec Roeland Fernhout, Fred Goessens, Hans Kesting, Marijn Klaver, Hugo Koolschijn, Alwin Pulinckx, Halina Reijn, Karina Smulders, Leon Voorberg, Benjamin de Wit, Inge Van den Ende
scénographie, concept lumières Jan Versweyveld
concept son Marc Meulemans
concept costumes Lies Van Assche
dramaturgie Alexander Schreuder

Toneelgroep Amsterdam [Amsterdam]

Het temmen van de feeks

Het temmen van de feeks
Het temmen van de feeks

20.10 – 22.10.2005

La saison précédente, avec la compagnie Tg Amsterdam, le metteur en scène Ivo Van Hove a orchestré un cycle autour du couple, de la famille et des rapports entre hommes et femmes. Il a ainsi dirigé De Kruistochten (Croisades) tiré de la trilogie The Norman Conquests d’Alan Ayckbourn et Scènes uit een huwelijk (Scènes de la vie conjugale) d’Ingmar Bergman, tandis que Peter van Kraaij a mis en scène Bedrog (Trahisons) de Harold Pinter. Ivo Van Hove a clôturé le cycle avec son adaptation de Het temmen van de feeks (La mégère apprivoisée) de William Shakespeare.

The Taming of The Shrew date de 1590 et l’intrigue n’a pas la réputation de faire la part belle aux femmes. L’histoire brosse le portrait de deux sœurs : la douce et docile Bianca qui se conforme aux exigences de la société et de son père, et Katharina la rebelle, la mégère que l’on ne peut apprivoiser. Bianca ne peut convoler en justes noces avec Lucentio tant que sa sœur n’est pas casée. Mais qui voudrait épouser telle mégère ? Personne, jusqu’à l’apparition de Petruchio qui, à la stupéfaction générale et après un affrontement fougueux, parvient à apprivoiser la jeune rebelle.

Dans cette mise en scène, Ivo Van Hove donne de Padoue, où l’histoire se déroule, l’image d’une oasis de douceur : dans ce temple de la Renaissance, ce coin de paradis de la culture, la vie s’avère toutefois strictement régie par les lois et les coutumes. L’argent, tout comme le pouvoir et le statut qui en découlent, détermine le cours des choses. Les pères se conduisent en marchands avec leurs filles et la hiérarchie la plus stricte règne jusque chez les domestiques. Cette image ne s’efface, temporairement, que lors du carnaval. Les frustrations trouvent alors un exutoire et chacun peut se déguiser en la personne qu’il aurait tant aimé être. Le masque de tolérance et de civilisation de Padoue tombe et tout le monde peut étancher sa soif d’anarchie. Voici la toile de fond de l’affrontement qui oppose Katharina et Petruchio avant de se transformer en amour : un amour entre le bourreau et sa victime, entre le maître et son valet, mais un amour dans lequel ils trouvent réciproquement le seul être avec lequel ils peuvent vivre cette vie.

Hafid Bouazza l’auteur e. a. de Paravion (lauréat du prix Gouden Uil 2004 aux Pays-Bas) a traduit la pièce pour Tg Amsterdam.


texte William Shakespeare
mise en scène Ivo van Hove
traduction Hafid Bouazza
avec Roeland Fernhout, Fred Goessens, Hans Kesting, Marijn Klaver, Hugo Koolschijn, Alwin Pulinckx, Halina Reijn, Karina Smulders, Leon Voorberg, Benjamin de Wit, Inge Van den Ende
scénographie, concept lumières Jan Versweyveld
concept son Marc Meulemans
concept costumes Lies Van Assche
dramaturgie Alexander Schreuder