Barbara Matijević & Giuseppe Chico [HR/FR]

Forecasting: a pirate's dilemma

05.03.2011

Sparkling history

Last year Barbara Matijević and Giuseppe Chico were guests at Spoken World with the first two parts of the trilogy Theory of a performance to come or The only way to avoid the massacre is to become its authors? In it they attempt to get a grip on our era, which is dominated by the media and consumption. We are extremely pleased to have these sparkling and fantastical lecture-performances back on the bill and present you with the brand new final part.

Part 3: Forecasting

Whereas I am 1984 and Tracks were about the disappearance of our awareness of history, the conclusion of the trilogy, Forecasting, is about our fear of losing our future too. The image of the life still to come is captured by advertising, fashion, film, science fiction and so on, in stereotype stories and structures. Using the methods of forecasting developed in science, philosophy and sociology, Matijević and Chico wish to liberate our image of the future once again. This final part focuses on movement.

• Barbara Matijević comes from Croatia and studied literature and dance. She has collaborated, among others, with Boris Charmatz, Joris Lacoste, David Hernandez and Bojan Jabanovec. Giuseppe Chico comes from Italy. He has lived and worked in Paris since 2000. He studied composition with Joao Fiadeiro and Joris Lacoste, and worked with George Appaix and Mille Plateaux Associés.

Part 1 (I AM 1984) is presented on Wednesday, March 2nd; part 2 (Tracks) on Friday, March 4th.


text Barbara Matijevic and Giuseppe Chico | performed by Barbara Matijevic and Giuseppe Chico | executive production Marie Roche / Grand Ensemble | production de facto & 1er stratageme | co-production Kaaitheater | support Croatian Ministry of Culture, City of Zagreb, DRAC Ile de France

Barbara Matijević & Giuseppe Chico [HR/FR]

Forecasting: a pirate's dilemma

Forecasting: a pirate's dilemma
Forecasting: a pirate's dilemma

05.03.2011

Histoire étincelante

L’année passée, Barbara Matijević et Giuseppe Chico étaient les hôtes de Spoken World avec les deux premières parties de la trilogie Theory of a performance to come or The only way to avoid the massacre is to become its authors? Ils tentent d’y saisir notre époque, dominée par les médias et la consommation. Nous sommes ravis de reporter à l’affiche ces lectures-performances étincelantes et riches en fantaisie et de présenter le tout nouveau dernier volet.


Troisième partie : Forecasting 

Si I am 1984 et Tracks traitaient de la disparition de notre conscience historique, Forecasting, la clôture de la trilogie, parle de l’angoisse de perdre notre avenir aussi. L’image de la vie qui nous attend est déterminée par la publicité, la mode, le cinéma, la science-fiction, etc., qui l’enferment dans des histoires et des structures stéréotypes. Au moyen de méthodes de prédiction, comme celles élaborées dans les sciences exactes, la philosophie et la sociologie, Matijević et Chico souhaitent libérer notre image de l’avenir. Ce dernier volet se concentre sur le mouvement.

• La Croate Barbara Matijević a étudié la littérature et la danse. Elle a travaillé régulièrement avec d’autres artistes, e.a. Boris Charmatz, Joris Lacoste, David Hernandez et Bojan Jabanovec. L’Italien Giuseppe Chico vit et travaille à Paris depuis 2000. Il y a étudié la composition avec Joao Fiadeiro et Joris Lacoste. Il a travaillé avec George Appaix et Mille Plateaux Associés.

La première partie (I AM 1984) est présentée le mercredi 2 mars, la deuxième partie (Tracks) le vendredi 4 mars.


text Barbara Matijevic and Giuseppe Chico | performed by Barbara Matijevic and Giuseppe Chico | executive production Marie Roche / Grand Ensemble | production de facto & 1er stratageme | co-production Kaaitheater | support Croatian Ministry of Culture, City of Zagreb, DRAC Ile de France