Elly Van Eeghem [BE]

(Dis)placed Interventions

(Dis)placed Interventions
(Dis)placed Interventions

14.09.2019

Together we make the city!” This is a motto that you often hear from citizens’ initiatives, politicians, urbanists, project developers… But how do you actually do that? What do we see happening in our cities and residential surroundings and how does it affect us? What makes a community environment a public space?

In (Dis)placed interventions, Elly Van Eeghem stimulates your imagination with video footage, voice recordings, music, and colourful projections. She collected all this material over the past several years in various neighbourhoods in Ghent, Paris, Berlin and Montreal. Along with local residents, school children and kindred spirits, she established various projects. Join her on this trip to what a city is and can be – and be amazed, confused and inspired by the spaces that we share with one another.

• Elly Van Eeghem makes videos, photos, actions and installations in public space, and is fascinated by urban development and by the relationships between project plans and reality. She is one of the urban residents of the Vooruit and teaches at the KASK School of Arts.


concept & creatie Elly Van Eeghem | muziek & soundscapes Benne Dousselaere | kostuums Leentje Kerremans | lichtontwerp & podiumtechniek Marlies Jacques | decorbouw & scènefotografie Maarten Van den Bossche | feedback Dries Douibi | productie Macadam VZW | coproductie Vooruit & KASK School of Arts HoGent | met steun van de Vlaamse Overheid en Cultuurdienst Stad Gent

Related content

Benjamin Vandewalle

Studio Cité

dance installation

Studio Cité
Studio Cité

dance

Sat 14.09 - Sun 22.09.19

Studio Cité orients, directs, diverts and distorts your view of the world. Step inside a driving mirror cart by yourself, form a dancing circle with your fellow audience members, or stand on the side-lines watching how people with periscopic masks try to find their way. Benjamin Vandewalle organizes an artistic funfair that offers unexpected experiences on Brussels’ squares.

Elly Van Eeghem [BE]

(Dis)placed Interventions

(Dis)placed Interventions
(Dis)placed Interventions

14.09.2019

« Ensemble, nous créons la ville ! » Telle est la devise récurrente que scandent souvent des initiatives citoyennes, des politiciens, des urbanistes, des promoteurs immobiliers, etc. Mais comment faire ? Que voit-on se produire dans nos villes et dans nos habitats ? Comment gère-t-on ces situations ? Qu’est-ce qui fait d’un environnement commun un espace public ?

Dans (Dis)placed interventions, Elly Van Eeghem titille notre imaginaire à la faveur d’images vidéo, d’enregistrements sonores, de musique et de projections colorées. Elle a réuni tout ce matériau au cours des années précédentes dans différents quartiers de Gand, Paris, Berlin et Montréal. Elle y a réalisé différents projets avec des riverains, des élèves d’écoles et des artistes amis. À présent, elle nous emmène en excursion le long de ce qui est et peut être une ville ; les espaces que nous partageons vous surprendront, vous déconcerteront et vous inspireront.

• Elly Van Eeghem crée des vidéos, des photos, des actions et des installations. Elle est fascinée par l’urbanisme et par les proportions entre les plans et la réalité. Elle est l’une des résidentes urbaines du Vooruit à Gand et enseigne au KASK School of Arts.


concept & creatie Elly Van Eeghem | muziek & soundscapes Benne Dousselaere | kostuums Leentje Kerremans | lichtontwerp & podiumtechniek Marlies Jacques | decorbouw & scènefotografie Maarten Van den Bossche | feedback Dries Douibi | productie Macadam VZW | coproductie Vooruit & KASK School of Arts HoGent | met steun van de Vlaamse Overheid en Cultuurdienst Stad Gent