Space [NL]

Design God

Design God
Design God

18.09 – 19.09.2010

‘I would like to welcome you on behalf of the Design God Tours team. As you know, Design God Tours organise experience trips to new dimensions. This is your chance to experience something that could change your life.’

The Design God audio walk reveals how sectarian religious movements came about. Without using their language or reasoning, Space lets us experience how easy it is to go along with a group belief. The walk is in the public space. The sounds in the headphones give the spectator the feeling he is walking in the middle of a story. The boundary separating fact and fiction blurs. Design God asks you to take a new look at your own perceptions of the world. Do you believe what you see or see what you believe?

• The work of the Dutch-Hungarian theatre group Space can be described as ‘docufiction’: it relates fictional, personal stories about real social themes in the style of a documentary. The group frequently performs in the public space and often makes personal contact with the spectators. Design God is also presented outdoors and is adapted to each local environment. The production has already been successfully performed in New York, Berlin and Amsterdam. Last year Space presented Holland Tsunami at Spoken World. This season the group has again been invited to participate in Spoken World, this time with The Cloud.


direction Petra Ardai | soundtrack Luc van Loo (with excerpts from music by György Ligeti) | voices Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo, Alexis Latham | text Petra Ardai, Feico Sobel (with quotes from Michel Houellebecq, Albert Camus, Richard Dawkins a.o.) | support Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren

Space [NL]

Design God

Design God
Design God

18.09 – 19.09.2010

« Au nom de l’équipe de Design God Tours, je vous souhaite la bienvenue. Comme vous le savez, Design God Tours organise des voyages expérimentaux vers de nouvelles dimensions. C’est l’occasion de vivre une expérience qui peut changer votre existence. »

La promenade sonore Design God met à nu la manière dont naissent les mouvements religieux sectaires. Sans utiliser leur langage ou leurs raisonnements, Space nous fait prendre conscience à quel point il est facile d’être la proie d’une conviction de groupe. La promenade se déroule dans l’espace public. Les écouteurs donnent au spectateur le sentiment de se promener au cœur de l’histoire. La frontière entre fiction et réalité s’estompe. Design God invite à porter un regard différent sur sa propre perception du monde. Croit-on ce que l’on voit ou voit-on ce que l’on croit ?

• L’œuvre de la compagnie de théâtre néerlando-hongroise Space peut se définir comme du « docu-fiction » : des récits fictifs, intimes autour de véritables sujets sociétaux, relatés à la manière d’un documentaire. Le groupe se produit souvent dans l’espace public et amorce tout aussi souvent un contact personnel avec le spectateur. Design God se joue également en plein air et s’adapte chaque fois à l’environnement local. Le spectacle s’est donné avec succès à New York, Berlin et Amsterdam. Lors de la précédente édition de Spoken World, Space était à l’affiche avec Holland Tsunami. Cette saison, le groupe sera à nouveau au programme de Spoken World avec The Cloud.


direction Petra Ardai | soundtrack Luc van Loo (with excerpts from music by György Ligeti) | voices Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo, Alexis Latham | text Petra Ardai, Feico Sobel (with quotes from Michel Houellebecq, Albert Camus, Richard Dawkins a.o.) | support Vlaams-Nederlands Huis deBuren