Daniel Linehan [US/BE]

dbddbb

dbddbb
dbddbb

03.02 – 04.02.2016

Paradoxical combinations

Five dancers walk in synch to the rhythm of a march. The movement is simple: one step is followed by another. At the same time they chant phonetic Dadaist poetry. Despite the compelling rhythm, shared by the group, each dancer develops his own way of dancing. The strict structure of the march slowly begins to fluctuate and resonate, until it is unrecognisable. The stepping and singing, in which paradoxical combinations such as disciplined absurdity, rigid anarchy and wordless speech unite, become an absurd and new whole.

   In this performance, Linehan examines how the individual can exist in harmony within a group. He uses movement and language as forms of expression that have a significant influence on each other. Linehan’s work always revolves around the juxtaposition of dance and non-dance; he looks for unusual combinations, opposites and parallels between texts, movements, images and rhythms. In these combinations he is searching for their effect on the individual and the group. The absurd chaos in dbddbb, which in the end leads to harmony, proves that we should perhaps dismantle and recreate the ‘old language’ in order to make progress.

• We have previously shown works by Daniel Linehan (ex-PARTS) such as the ‘choreographic comedy’ The Karaoke Dialogues (2014), Gaze is a Gap is a Ghost (2012) and the danced ‘rock concert’ Zombie Aporia (2011).


concept, choreography Daniel Linehan | dance, creation Marcus Baldemar, Anneleen Keppens, Liz Kinoshita, Daniel Linehan, Víctor Pérez Armero | dramaturgical advice Manon Santkin | outside eye Michael Helland | set design 88888 | lighting design Jan Fedinger | costume design Frédérick Denis | assistance costume design Charlotte Matterne | technical coordination Elke Verachtert, Patrick Laganne | production Hiatus (Brussel, BE) | executive production & distribution Belgium Caravan Production (Brussel, BE) | international distribution Damien Valette | co-production Opéra de Lille (FR), Théâtre de la Ville-Paris (FR), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris, FR), deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus (Antwerpen, BE), Festival de Danse - Cannes (FR) | Daniel Linehan/Hiatus is Artist-in-Residence at l’Opéra de Lille since 2013 and is supported by the Flemish Authorites

Daniel Linehan [US/BE]

dbddbb

dbddbb
dbddbb

03.02 – 04.02.2016

Combinaisons paradoxales

Cinq danseurs avancent de manière synchrone au rythme d’une marche en scandant de la poésie dadaïste phonétique. Le mouvement est simple : chaque pas est suivi d’un autre. Malgré le rythme contraignant, partagé par le groupe, chaque danseur développe sa propre manière de danser. Petit à petit, la structure rigoureuse de la marche commence à onduler et à résonner jusqu’à devenir méconnaissable. La marche et le chant, dans lesquels convergent des combinaisons paradoxales comme l’absurdité disciplinée, l’anarchie rigide et la parole muette se rencontrent et donnent lieu à un nouvel ensemble absurde.

Dans cette pièce, Linehan examine la façon dont un individu peut harmonieusement évoluer en tant que tel au sein d’un groupe. Il se sert du mouvement et du langage comme moyens d’expression qui s’influencent réciproquement. L’œuvre de Linehan s’articule toujours autour de la conjonction de la danse et de la non-danse, d’une quête de combinaisons inhabituelles, de paradoxes et de parallèles entre textes, mouvements, images et rythmes, dans lesquels il étudie l’effet sur l’individu et le groupe. Le chaos absurde de dbddbb, qui mène néanmoins à l’harmonie, nous indique qu’il faut peut-être modifier le « langage ancien » et le moderniser afin de réellement progresser.

• Daniel Linehan (ex-PARTS) était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec la « comédie chorégraphique » The Karaoke Dialogues (2014), Gaze is a Gap is a Ghost (2012) et le « concert rock » dansé Zombie Aporia (2011).


concept, choreography Daniel Linehan | dance, creation Marcus Baldemar, Anneleen Keppens, Liz Kinoshita, Daniel Linehan, Víctor Pérez Armero | dramaturgical advice Manon Santkin | outside eye Michael Helland | set design 88888 | lighting design Jan Fedinger | costume design Frédérick Denis | assistance costume design Charlotte Matterne | technical coordination Elke Verachtert, Patrick Laganne | production Hiatus (Brussel, BE) | executive production & distribution Belgium Caravan Production (Brussel, BE) | international distribution Damien Valette | co-production Opéra de Lille (FR), Théâtre de la Ville-Paris (FR), Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris, FR), deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus (Antwerpen, BE), Festival de Danse - Cannes (FR) | Daniel Linehan/Hiatus is Artist-in-Residence at l’Opéra de Lille since 2013 and is supported by the Flemish Authorites