Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]

Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]
Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]

Antigone in Molenbeek stands alone as a production.
But at the same time, it forms a diptych with Tiresias.

Guy Cassiers: “Both Antigone and Tiresias oppose the political, social and sexual categories that society employs. They extract themselves from the identity imposed on them and passionately demand their own voice and their own difference. In both productions, this drama is enhanced by the music of Shostakovich.”


Guy Cassiers / Toneelhuis [BE]

Antigone in Molenbeek

Antigone in Molenbeek
Antigone in Molenbeek

In early 2016, the president of a major country labelled Molenbeek a ‘Hellhole’. Stefan Hertmans had already started working on Antigone in Molenbeek at that point. In this unrelenting tale, a young woman searches for the body of her dead brother. Referring to Sophocles’ tragedy, Hertmans wrote a relevant, compelling and poetic theatre monologue about empathizing with somebody who becomes completely isolated: the sister of a suicide bomber. Nouria only wants one thing, and that is to bury her brother – but the authorities will not release his mortal remains. When she tries to access the Forensic Centre where the corpse is stored, everything goes wrong. What is the extent of our humanity? Whom do we consider to be our fellow human and whom don’t we?

• Guy Cassiers directs actress and theatremaker Sachli Gholamalizad. The script engages in dialogue with the final string quartet by Dmitri Shostakovich, in which the composer said farewell to life.


regie Guy Cassiers | tekst Stefan Hertmans | Antigone in Molenbeek is een uitgave van De Bezige Bij | met Sachli Gholamalizad | vormgeving & video Charlotte Bouckaert | muziek Danel Quartet  | productie Toneelhuis | coproductie Danel Kwartet | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius


Guy Cassiers / Toneelhuis [BE]

Tiresias

Tiresias
Tiresias

In the sound poem Tiresias, British author and spoken word artist Kate Tempest lets identity slip from man to woman to blind visionary. Katelijne Damen embodies the transforming character, and thus asks incisive questions about identity. Tempest situates the theme in the midst of a contemporary urban context in which people are increasingly at risk of losing a sense of themselves. Tiresias is a fifteen-year-old boy who transforms into a woman, and ultimately into a prophet to whom nobody listens. Tempest’s language attests to exceptional playfulness and concreteness. Cassiers juxtaposes the voice of Tiresias with Dmitri Shostakovich’s eighth symphony, performed live by the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra in the Queen Elizabeth Hall.

• In 2013, Guy Cassiers created the monologue Orlando – based on Virginia Woolf – with Katelijne Damen, which was also staged at Kaaitheater. The 33-year-old Kate Tempest has won numerous awards for her poems and novels and she sells out major venues with her spoken word performances.


regie Guy Cassiers | naar Tiresias van Kate Tempest | met Katelijne Damen | vormgeving & video Charlotte Bouckaert | muziek Antwerp Symphony Orchestra | productie Toneelhuis | coproductie Antwerp Symphony Orchestra | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]

Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]
Antigone in Molenbeek + Tiresias [double bill]

Les représentations ont été annulées, car la tournéé a été reportée à cause du coronavirus.

Antigone in Molenbeek est un spectacle autonome, mais constitue à la fois un diptyque avec Tiresias.

Guy Cassiers : « Aussi bien Antigone que Tirésias se rebellent contre les catégories politiques, sociales et sexuelles qu’applique la société. Tous deux se soustraient à l’identité qu’on leur impose et revendiquent avec passion leur propre voix et leur différence. La musique de Chostakovitch accentue la dimension dramatique des deux récits. »


Guy Cassiers / Toneelhuis [BE]

Antigone in Molenbeek

Antigone in Molenbeek
Antigone in Molenbeek

Les représentations ont été annulées, car la tournéé a été reportée à cause du coronavirus.

Au début de l’année 2016, un certain président a qualifié Bruxelles de hellhole. À ce moment-là, Stefan Hertmans était déjà en train de travailler à Antigone in Molenbeek. Dans ce récit oppressant, une jeune femme part en quête de la dépouille mortelle de son frère. Avec cette référence à Sophocle, Hertmans écrit un monologue de théâtre actuel, poignant, poétique et compassionnel à propos d’une personne qui se retrouve entièrement isolée : la sœur d’un terroriste kamikaze. Nouria ne veut qu’une seule chose, enterrer son frère mais on refuse de lui remettre ses restes. Lorsqu’elle s’introduit par effraction dans le centre médico-légal où ils sont conservés, les choses tournent mal. Jusqu’où va notre humanité ? Qui considérons-nous comme notre prochain et qui pas ?

• Guy Cassiers dirige l’actrice Ikram Aoulad. Le texte engage le dialogue avec le Quatuor à cordes (n° 15) de Dmitri Chostakovitch, le dernier qu’il a composé et aussi celui avec lequel il prend congé de la vie.


regie Guy Cassiers | tekst Stefan Hertmans | Antigone in Molenbeek is een uitgave van De Bezige Bij | met Ikram Aoulad | vormgeving & video Charlotte Bouckaert | muziek Danel Quartet  | productie Toneelhuis | coproductie Danel Kwartet | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius


Guy Cassiers / Toneelhuis [BE]

Tiresias

Tiresias
Tiresias

Les représentations ont été annulées, car la tournéé a été reportée à cause du coronavirus.

Dans le poème oral Tiresias, la jeune Britannique Kate Tempest, auteure et artiste du spoken word, fait muer l’identité de l’orateur d’homme en femme et de femme en devin aveugle. Katelijne Damen incarne ce personnage dont la métamorphose soulève des questions pointues sur l’identité. Tempest situe le thème au cœur d’un contexte urbain contemporain dans lequel les gens courent le risque de toujours plus vite se perdre. Son Tirésias est un adolescent de quinze ans qui se transforme en femme et finalement en prophète que personne n’écoute. La langue de Tempest est particulièrement ludique et concrète. En réponse à la voix de Tirésias, Cassiers fait résonner la Huitième Symphonie de Dmitri Chostakovitch interprétée en direct par l’Antwerp Symphony Orchestra à la salle Reine Elisabeth.

• En 2013, Guy Cassiers a créé le monologue Orlando – d’après Virginia Woolf – avec Katelijne Damen. Un spectacle qui était au programme du Kaaitheater. La jeune Kate Tempest, âgée de 33 ans, déjà lauréate de multiples prix pour ses poèmes et ses romans, fait salle comble avec ses performances de spoken word.


regie Guy Cassiers | naar Tiresias van Kate Tempest | met Katelijne Damen | vormgeving & video Charlotte Bouckaert | muziek Antwerp Symphony Orchestra | productie Toneelhuis | coproductie Antwerp Symphony Orchestra | met de steun van Casa Kafka Pictures - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius