Ana Pi

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities
A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

24.09.2021

‘Urban dances in South America, in the United States, in Europe, in Asia, and in Africa are always connected to the diverse body of African dance, which migrated with the continent’s deported slaves and immigrants. These forms of urban dance were invented in the world’s most cosmopolitan cities, shaped by waves of deportation and immigration. The complex heritage of this profoundly unequal social order can also be seen, rising to the surface in these dances.’ – Ana Pi

From South Africa to Jamaica, from the United States to Angola... The young Brazilian choreographer Ana Pi gives a tour of the world of urban dance, through ten cities and ten different types of dance. Each street dance is linked to a city, its violence and injustice, but also to vibrant energy. These days, urban dances are mainly spreading through the Internet, which makes for constant and rapid evolutions, as well as the spectacular popularity of dance styles all over the world.

Ana Pi made Tour du monde des danses urbaines in 2014. Since then, she has presented the play more than 400 times around the world, for audiences of all ages.

• Ana Pi is a choreographer and visual artist, researcher in urban dance, dancer and teacher. She is currently associate choreographer at MAC VAL, the museum of contemporary art of Val-de-Marne, and at La Briqueterie – CDCN, for the European project Dancing Museums: The Democracy of Beings. In 2020, she received a grant from MoMA in New York to create The Divine Cypher in Haiti. She will present this project in the next season at Kaaitheater.

 

 


texts, research, video editing, choreography & performance Ana Pi | collaboration Cecilia Bengolea, François Chaignaud | production Association des Centres de Développement Chorégraphique Nationaux | support Direction Générale de la Création Artistique [La Place de la Danse CDCN Toulouse Occitanie ; La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine ; La Maison Uzès Gard Occitanie ; Les Hivernales CDCN d’Avignon ; Le Pacifique CDCN Grenoble Auvergne-Rhône-Alpe ; Art Danse CDCN Bourgogne-Franche-Comté ; La Briqueterie CDCN Val-de-Marne ; Atelier de Paris CDCN ; L’échangeur CDCN Hauts- de-France ; Le Gymnase CDCN Hauts-de-France ; Pole- Sud CDCN Strasbourg ; Touka Danses CDCN Guyane ] | production NA MATA LAB | co-production Latitudes Prod. – Lille | Thanks to Vlovajob Pru, Annie Bozzini & the CDCN team (who commissioned the work) and thanks to the entire community of street dance artists who made the research possible | supported by Be My Guest

There's more

KlappSquad & ROBIN

Klapping initiation

workshop dance

Klapping initiation
Klapping initiation

workshop

Fri 24.09.21

Klapping is set on a Brussels cement field, to take the roots of football culture and movement and re-adapt them in the style of contemporary urban dance cultures – such as B-boying and Krumping. The result is a new kind of street dance. It is a fantastic meeting of unlikely groups and a surreal and energetic experience for people from all walks of life.

Read more - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'

Read more - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'
Read more - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'

Programme leaflet

Mon 20.09.21

Read the digital programme leaflet of A world tour of urban dance in ten cities.

Ana Pi

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

A world tour of urban dance in ten cities
A world tour of urban dance in ten cities

24.09.2021

« Les danses urbaines en Amérique du Sud, aux États-Unis, en Europe, en Asie, sont toujours liées au corpus divers des danses traditionnelles Africaines, venues du continent   dans le corps des personnes qui ont subi la condition imposée par le système esclavagiste, et des personnes qui pour des raisons économiques ont dû migrer de leur territoire d’origine vers des villes en expansion.Ces formes de danse ont été inventées dans les villes les plus cosmopolites du monde, façonnées par des vagues de déportation et d’immigration. Dans ces danses, on voit aussi remonter à la surface l’héritage complexe de cet ordre social profondément inégalitaire et paradoxelement très puissant. » – Ana Pi

De l’Afrique du Sud à la Jamaïque, des États-Unis à l’Angola… La jeune chorégraphe brésilienne Ana Pi nous fait une visite guidée des danses urbaines à travers le monde, en passant par dix villes et à la faveur de dix types de danse différents. Chaque danse de rue est liée à sa propre ville, à sa violence et à ses injustices, mais aussi à une énergie électrisante. À l’heure actuelle, les danses urbaines se diffusent avant tout à travers l’Internet, ce qui assure des évolutions constantes et très rapides, et la popularité spectaculaire des styles de danse dans le monde entier.

Ana Pi a créé le Tour du monde des danses urbaines en 2014, depuis elle a présenté la pièce plus de 400 fois en Afrique, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe, pour des publics de tous âges.

• Ana Pi est artiste chorégraphique et de l’image, chercheuse en danses urbaines, danseuse extemporaine et pédagogue. Elle est actuellement chorégraphe associée au MAC VAL, le musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne, et à La Briqueterie – CDCN, pour le projet européen Dancing Museums : The Democracy of Beings. En 2020, elle a reçu une bourse du MoMA à New York pour créer The Divine Cypher en Haïti. Elle présentera ce projet lors de la prochaine saison du Kaaitheater.


texts, research, video editing, choreography & performance Ana Pi | collaboration Cecilia Bengolea, François Chaignaud | production Association des Centres de Développement Chorégraphique Nationaux | support Direction Générale de la Création Artistique [La Place de la Danse CDCN Toulouse Occitanie ; La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine ; La Maison Uzès Gard Occitanie ; Les Hivernales CDCN d’Avignon ; Le Pacifique CDCN Grenoble Auvergne-Rhône-Alpe ; Art Danse CDCN Bourgogne-Franche-Comté ; La Briqueterie CDCN Val-de-Marne ; Atelier de Paris CDCN ; L’échangeur CDCN Hauts- de-France ; Le Gymnase CDCN Hauts-de-France ; Pole- Sud CDCN Strasbourg ; Touka Danses CDCN Guyane ] | production NA MATA LAB | co-production Latitudes Prod. – Lille | Thanks to Vlovajob Pru, Annie Bozzini & the CDCN team (who commissioned the work) and thanks to the entire community of street dance artists who made the research possible | supported by Be My Guest

There's more

KlappSquad & ROBIN

Klapping initiation

workshop danse

Klapping initiation
Klapping initiation

workshop

ve 24.09.21

Klapping se déroule sur un terrain cimenté à Bruxelles pour en extraire les racines de la culture et des mouvements du football et les réadapter au style des cultures contemporaines de danses urbaines – comme le B-boying et le Krumping. Le résultat donne lieu à une nouvelle sorte de streetdance. Il s’agit d’une rencontre formidable entre groupes improbables et d’une expérience surréaliste et énergique pour des personnes de tous bords.

Savoir plus - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'

Savoir plus - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'
Savoir plus - 'A world tour of urban dance in ten cities'

Feuille de salle

lu 20.09.21

Lisez la feuille de salle digitale d' A world tour of urban dance in ten cities.