Rosas & Ictus [Brussels]

Steve Reich Evening

Steve Reich Evening
Steve Reich Evening

07.03 – 11.03.2007

A tribute to Steve Reich

The repetitive music of the American composer Steve Reich has always occupied an important position in the work of the choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker since the very beginning. However, the Steve Reich Evening Rosas is presenting this season, with live music, is not a retrospective.

To take us back to the beginning, however, they will perform Piano Phase from Fase. Four movements to the music of Steve Reich (1982). In this part the two dancers follow the movements of their right arm, which, like a pendulum, sets their whole body in motion. The first part of Drumming (see the performances Just Before (1997) and Drumming Live (1998)) will also be performed. In Drumming, Movement 1, the twelve dancers set out long phrases of movement to the music, which is played by four percussionists. In this composition one can hear the influence of the study trip Reich took to Ghana shortly before writing it.

A number of new creations will be added to the existing choreographic works, set to music that includes Four Organs, a piece for four Hammond organs and maracas that caused a scandal when it was first performed in 1970, and Eight Lines, a brilliant twenty-minute ostinato for two pianos, inspired by Balinese music.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker once said in an interview: ‘I always try, in a very simplistic way, to present in the dance what appeals to me in the music, and that makes me want to dance.’ This respect for the music and for the composer’s development is clear to see in this Steve Reich Evening. In parallel, it also shows the development of the choreographer. From the short phrases of movement in Piano Phase to the longer phrases in Drumming. Or, as the Ictus musician Jean-Luc Plouvier so lucidly summarised it: from the pendulum movement to that of infinite spirals.

Chorégraphie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Danseurs Boštjan Antončič, Tale Dolven, Kosi Hidama, Kaya Kolodziejczyk , Cynthia Loemij, Mark Lorimer, Moya Michael, Elizaveta Penkóva, Zsuzsa Rozsavölgyi, Igor Shyshko, Clinton Stringer, Sue-Yeon Youn, Anne-Lin Akselsen, Anani Dodji Sanouvi
Musique Steve Reich, György Ligeti
Musique en direct Ictus Ensemble: Jean-Luc Plouvier (clavier, piano), Jean-Luc Fafchamps (clavier, piano), Gerrit Nulens (clavier, percussion), Georges-Elie Octors (clavier, percussion), Géry Cambier (percussion), Miquel Bernat (percussion)
Lumières et scénographie Remon Fromont
CostumesTim Van Steenbergen 
Production Rosas & De Munt | La Monnaie
Coproduction Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville Paris