Spiegel String Quartet

Lunch Concert

Lunch Concert
Lunch Concert


In 1970, the American composer George Crumb was inspired by the Vietnam war to write his Black Angels string quartet. The work quotes important aspects of all things temptation: from the fall of Adam and the Danse Macabre, all the way to Tartini’s Devil’s Trill. The Spiegel String Quartet will also perform Gyula Bánkövi’s The Gate of Hell in a Belgian creation!

Gyula Bankovi
The Gate of Hell (2001) for string quartet and electronics - BELGIAN PREMIERE

George Crumb
Black Angels 'Thirteen images of a dark land'
violin Elisa Kawaguti
violin Stefan Willems
alto Leo De Neve
cello Jan Sciffer
live electronics Jorrit Tamminga
copresentation Kaaitheater
coproduction Festival van Vlaanderen Brussel/Bruxelles