Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods & Münchner Kammerspiele [US/BE/DE]

Built to Last

Built to Last
Built to Last

09.01 – 10.01.2015

Five performers travel through the history of the dance – and possibly into its future. Time and time again they enter an impressive new world, in which they themselves, through subtle variations in movement, discover a new consciousness: of the space, the situation, themselves and each other. The constant effort to stay upright reveals inherent vulnerability.

The title, Built to Last, arouses suspicion. Is it possible, today, to still believe in eternal values and universality? Things are built up only to fall down again, in much the same way that we long to constantly rediscover ourselves.

•In Built to Last Meg Stuart works for the first time with existing classical music. The sound recording, a meta-composition by music dramaturge Alain Franco, acts as a time machine. Each of the tracks, by Sergei Rachmaninoff, Ludwig van Beethoven, Iannis Xenakis and Arnold Schönberg amongst others, reflects an overwhelming sense of monumentality.

choreography Meg Stuart | created with and performed by Dragana Bulut, Davis Freeman, Anja Müller, Maria F. Scaroni, Kristof Van Boven | dramaturgy Bart Van den Eynde, Jeroen Versteele | music dramaturgy Alain Franco | sound design Kassian Troyer | scenography Doris Dziersk | costumes Nadine Grellinger | light Jürgen Tulzer, Frank Laubenheimer | video Philipp Hochleichter | technical director Oliver Houttekiet | sound Roy Carroll | light technician Pierre Willems | video technician Richard König | production manager Eline Verzelen | assistant choreography Ana Rocha | assistant scenography Anna Hentschel | assistant costumes Ann-Kristin Danzinger | intern dramaturgy Carlotta Scioldo | tour manager Annabel Heyse | with special thanks to Lena Lauzemis | production Damaged Goods (Brussels) and Münchner Kammerspiele (Munich) | Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods are supported by the Flemish authorities and the Flemish Community Commission

A House on Fire co-production; with the support of the culture programme of the European Union